Home > Digital Rights Management (DRM), F/OSS, Microsoft, News, Software > Mediaportal 1.1 is Final(ly released)

Mediaportal 1.1 is Final(ly released)

I think I am going to give Mediaportal another go, now that 1.1 final has been finally (after so much time and so many release candidates) released. I had been using Mediaportal as my media center software of choice since about 2007 (back in the 0.2.x days) but recently I had been lured away with some of the shinier features of Windows 7 Media Center.

Although overall I have enjoyed the user experience and polish of 7MC, the frustrations and limitations (lack of good plug-ins, local content, themes etc..) continue to mount. There are a lot of things 7MC is simply great at (series record, intelligently recording at another time to deal with timing clashes, Windows integration, four-foot configuration and so on..) but I think I am ready for a bit more freedom again from my media center.

  1. August 25, 2010 at 1:16 am

    Woah! New theme again!
    But this seems to be a perfect fit considering the subject matter 😉

    Have you tried XBMC? It was originally meant to run on the old XBox, but is now available on Windows. Actually MediaPortal was a fork of XBMC a while ago, although those roots a probably long gone.

    • August 25, 2010 at 8:32 am

      Yes it does although I’m concerned it is too gaming centric… I’ll keep tinkering till I chance on the magic formula! I’ve played with XBMC and love it, although the lack of tuner support is what prevents me from using it. MediaPortal has come a long way since the fork although I wish the default theme was a bit better 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

