Home > News > Twitter downtime and flailbots

Twitter downtime and flailbots

I am rather surprised at the amount of downtime Twitter has had today – the site is up and responsive, but I’ve not been able to access or update my timeline for at least six twelvetwenty eight(!) hours! Twitter is of course famous (especially in the early days) for downtime but this is stretching credibility given the lack of prior notification.

Looks like the flailbot is here to stay, at least for now.

Update – twenty eight hours into the down time I am really shocked at the lack of acknowledgement of the problem on the Twitter status blog. For what is a mature social media network I’d have expected a better response than this, even if it is ‘we have a serious problem and we are trying to fix it’.

Final Update – well clearly whatever the problem was it was rectified. Oddly enough, as many people I spoke to were affected by this as those that weren’t. Odd.

Categories: News Tags: , , , , , ,
  1. Nemo
    August 2, 2010 at 11:40 am

    Only with you, it seems, sir. Things have been fine on my end! And I’d usually expect my feed to be flooded with complaints during such an event, so the spread of it must be minor.

    • August 2, 2010 at 2:09 pm

      That really is odd. It is back for me now, but over almost the whole weekend I was getting the flailbot you see in the screenshot above. Sometimes I could log in, other times I couldn’t but irrespective of what I did, I would be met with that message every time.

  2. barrycyrus
    September 2, 2010 at 3:36 am

    For what is a mature social media network I’d have expected a better response than this, even if it is ‘we have a serious problem and we are trying to fix it’.

    WORD 😦

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

