Home > RTS, Windows > Nokia PC Suite = RUBBISH

Nokia PC Suite = RUBBISH

It is not like me to post massive rants, but over and over again the software that came with my N95 has been a major cause for annoyance. It all started when I went to update the firmware, the PC Suite told me to back up all my data which I did do. As part of that, I told the PC Suite to synchronize all my contacts, calender and text messages. A minute or two later, after assuring me it had completed successfully I performed a firmware update.

This took about ten / fifteen minutes and was followed by a synchronisation to restore my data. It was at this point that I discovered the PC Suite had randomly selected 7 of my contacts (my number being one of them) to save and promptly deleted the others (as well as all text messages and calender entries.) This was frustrating as the last backup prior to this was when I changed from my trusty K800i to the N95 and I was missing three months worth of new numbers (and messages etc.)

What happened today was inexcusable, I had just updated the Nokia PC Suite software (it crashed during a sync and in the process killed my Vista Calender backup of my N95 Calender) and connected my mobile phone. I then told the Nokia PC Suite to re-synchronize my calender entries which is happily did. The problem was, it arbitrarily (and automatically) deleted ALL my calender entries!!! This is completely inexcusable for a PIM utility which is supposed to be aimed at a business market as well. This post is a rant for which I apologise, but I am fuming at the moment.

Categories: RTS, Windows Tags: , , ,
  1. April 27, 2008 at 1:55 pm

    Did it maybe have anything to do with some of your contacts being stored on your phones memory and some on your sim card? I’ve had problems with that happening in the past.

    On another note, how do you find the n95 over the k800i? I’m going to be able to get my hands on one soon and am wondering if i should ditch my k800i in favour of the nokia?

  2. April 28, 2008 at 3:05 pm

    The sim contacts are used as a backup space on the N95 and never touched by the synching software so I don’t think that was it… still really pissed off with the whole episode to be honest, future appointments I can (mostly) piece back together, but historical appointments which are useful for reference are gone completely.

    Going from the K800i to the N95 felt like a huge step. Although this was probably because my last few mobile phones have been Sony Ericsson (SE T610 > SE K700i > Samsung D500 > SE K750i > SE K800i > now the Nokia N95) initially the Nokia N95 felt very alien and sluggish, it has grown on me in the 8 or so months I have had it but I am still not as pleased with it as I was my K800. The N95 has a 5 Mega pixel camera (vs 3.2 on SE K800) although I noticed very little difference between the two, in fact, I think I preferred the K800 in some cases.

    GPS is a cool gadget as long as you have the most update firmware as early firmwares tend to take forever to lock onto a GPS signal, it is also a lot less sensitive than something like a TOM TOM or fully featured GPS tool. This is both in the quality and speed of GPS lock although the N95 has a few really cool GPS utilities like Sports Tracker.

    The N95’s biggest problems are the limited battery life (but I have gotten used to this) and the bloody slide – Nokia can’t seem to manufacture them properly and you generally always end up with one that does fit 100% or deteriorates with time.

    Overall the N95 is a nice mobile but there are better options now available like the N82 which is essentially an N95 in candy bar format although a fair amount chunkier. I am not as pleased with it as my old K800i, but I would not go back to the K800.

  3. Adi Daniel
    May 11, 2008 at 8:22 pm

    Same thing happened to me!
    That PISSED ME OFF!!!

    I took N95 over iPhone and I currently regret it : (

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

