Home > Gaming, PSP > Easy way to upgrade the PSP firmware

Easy way to upgrade the PSP firmware

If you run custom firmware on your PSP, it can be a little bit frustrating keeping up to date with the latest offerings from the like of Dark Alex. I found google searches on the topic usually turned up old or useless topics even with fairly specific searches. A friend of mine suggested a series of videos on youtube by a user called angelmikey511. He has a nice range of tutorials taking you through step by step how to accomplish the upgrade process regardless of the custom firmware you are running, be it a OE (Open Edition like 3.40 OE-A) or M33 team (like 3.51 M33-2).

He presently has 44 videos covering a range of PSP (and nonPSP) topics from Pandora’s Battery installation/use as well as software (like IR Shell, Brilliant Themes or Ultimate PSP 1.6) installation and software downgrade methods.

  1. Nemo
    March 24, 2008 at 9:27 pm

    Suggestion by me 😛 Yeah, I did a bit of fiddling with my PSP yesterday and this morning, and got Snes9x on it, as well as some CXMB layouts which look quite bitchin’. There is indication that you can get the PSP to emulate PSX games too, and I want to see if I can get that sorted. True, good PSP games are few and far between in my opinion (currently enjoying Crisis Core and Patapon) but if I can make my PSP a portable SNES/PSX, it’s value to me will increase incredibly.

  2. March 25, 2008 at 11:07 am

    Yeah that was the big thing with the 3.x firmware – native PSX support. You have to encapsulate your PSX images in PSP loaders but it works well! I was playing C&C Red Alert PSX version on my PSP recently 🙂

  3. Nemo
    March 25, 2008 at 11:35 am

    Bitchin’. *gets Chrono Cross*

  4. March 25, 2008 at 11:54 am

    The only issue that I am aware of is with some multidisc games, they get confused and try to boot as new games on each disc rather than reading the memory states from the previous disc. I believe this may be fixed though with the newer POP loaders.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

