Home > News > Free (legal) Vista? – Follow up

Free (legal) Vista? – Follow up

OK, so out of curiosity I registered for this to see how it works, opting to complete regular surveys rather than have my computing habits spied on. I however did have time to read through the FAQs in more details along with some of the EULAs. I would like to just highlight a few lines which I should have mentioned last time.

Does the software impact the performance of my PC?
“… the Windows Feedback Program software [has been designed] to limit the amount of computer resources it uses to collect data. You may see a minor change in performance when you first log in to Windows; however, this typically only occurs during the first few minutes…”

” In general, the data is shared once per day.”

“Unfortunately, you will not be able to look at your specific data. We designed the Windows Feedback Program software specifically to avoid any interference with your work or how your computer functions”

“Yes, we have a unique identifier for your data”

Mind you, who is to say Microsoft don’t have a similar ‘feedback’ (read spying) software ‘service’ (read unnecessary memory hog) in Vista already?

Categories: News Tags: , , , , , ,
  1. March 11, 2008 at 11:40 pm

    Wait, I guess I missed this even totally. From the sounds of it Vista is free to those people who will allow activities to be logged, or complete surveys? I can get you a free key-gen if you’d rather do it that way…

  2. March 29, 2008 at 11:49 am

    It seems that is indeed the case, however I never managed to get any further than completing the sign up so I can’t comment. MS did confirm I had signed up and then promptly told me I was not in the US and not eligable. Its strange however that this has not turned up on more blogs/news sites. I thought a lot of people would be interested in ‘free’ Vista 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

