Home > Gaming, Rant > Drift City – Thumbs down

Drift City – Thumbs down

Well true to my word I downloaded and installed Drift City to try it out. My initial attempt to download it via xfire failed miserably on two different computers. Xfire seems to work like a p2p network in the manner in which it transfers files, and whilst normally being rather efficient, it failed completely to download the Drift City client.

So instead I opted for a direct download, this time from gamershell.com which proceeded quickly. In no time at all I decompressed the installer and set it up on my system, then the ‘fun’ started. Using the default launcher, no binary was executed, instead Internet Explorer opened and took me to the iji site. I was a little confused by this, thinking that perhaps the game needed a patch and silently closed whilst taking me to the homepage, I checked the link on my desktop and it was indeed setup to open a page in IE. A little confused I went back to the Drift City iji website and clicked ‘Play Now’. This then opened an applet which informed me I needed to install the iji game download tool. Getting a little annoyed at this stage I proceeded to download the 3ish Mb file and installed it.

Once this was done I then tried to run the game, again I was met with the message please download the Drift City client. Given the fact I had already done this and had installed it to the default directory, I was getting rather annoyed – it should not be this hard to play a game! A few more minutes of wrangling with the website and I uninstalled the game and the iji download tool. Its a shame as the premise was good and the media promising, but frankly I cannot think of a worse way to distribute and execute a game. Maybe at some point in the future I will give it another go and because I didnt actually get into the game I dont want to give this game a full thumbs down as the gameplay may be excellent.

Given the fact that I only tried this game because of the competition on xfire, I wonder how many other people, for the same reason, quickly downloaded the client, went round in circles and gave up…

  1. Corey
    December 21, 2007 at 2:13 pm

    I don’t know what you’re talking about, I recently downloaded the game with no problems and the gameplay is unique and a ton of fun. Before you complain about how bad it is, learn to use a computer correctly. It didn’t take much more than a 1 1/2 hour download and 15 minutes of patching for me to be on the streets and racing.

  2. mercior
    December 31, 2007 at 5:04 pm

    I’ve had the exact same problem. I’d love to know if anyone found a way around it, as it looks a fun game

  3. January 1, 2008 at 8:59 pm

    @Corey, thanks for your input. I (for the most part :P) know how to ‘use a computer properly.’ I was writing from the prospective of an average user as well as expressing my frustration at the shoddy way in which the MMORPG has been inplemented.

    @mercior: I do actually want to play this game so I am going to give it another shot sometime soon. If I find a quick/easy fix then I will post the info 🙂

  4. Ijji Addict
    January 14, 2008 at 2:28 pm

    Its easy, all you do is go on ijji.com. Click your way through the site to the Drift City section. Click on ‘play live’ and if u havent already have the game installed it will download it for you. After its done, go back on the site and click play live again. The game will then patch. Wait a few more minutes and u should be in the game.

    I know pc games are pain in the ass but we just have to live with it if u want to play on free stuff instead of buying a ps3.

  5. Cappy
    January 22, 2008 at 8:02 am

    I have the same problem. It’s an unresolved bug on the forums apparently. I give up. When I click “play live” it only says to install the game. I’ve already removed everything and reinstall it. They say it may be because it will only work if the game is installed on the C: drive.

  6. Cappy
    January 22, 2008 at 8:33 am

    I fixed the problem:
    http://forums.ijji.com/showthread.php?p=1415752

    *files his nails*

  7. sam
    September 16, 2008 at 6:32 pm

    try this why don,t you turn off your security for the computer for a while and then click play live see if it works.

  8. September 16, 2008 at 9:08 pm

    Sam that is a terrible suggestion.. sorry..

  9. ....
    January 20, 2009 at 10:03 pm

    seriously are you stupid?

    the game runs off ijji’s website, you must register there first, press launch game then install the patcher, RETURN TO THE WEBSITE press play live AGAIN, and you will play.

  10. January 21, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    @… lol. Apparently so, did as you suggested too, still no joy. Although I should point out that this post is over a year old and that I am sure the issue has been fixed by now sheesh.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

