Home > Gaming, Homebrew, N64, News, PSP > n64 Emulation on the PSP – the fabled dream of a madman?

n64 Emulation on the PSP – the fabled dream of a madman?

I was just reading Strmnnrmn’s blog this morning. For those that dont know, Strmnnrmn is the coding genius behind the PSP port of daedalus, a n64 emulator. Whilst I have been hanging on his every release since R6, I am starting to get a bit frustrated at the lack of perceivable progress with every release. Whilst I do not doubt that Strmnnrmn is working hard and implementing new features in every build, to the end user, if the frame-rate increases marginally per release then they should be happy.

Why am I not then?!? Partly because with every release I harbor the notion of playable (even if it is sub real-time) emulation. This so far has not happened. The recent R13 release broke a few of the roms and despite all the technical improvements made, still felt like a step backwards which was really disappointing. Every time a new post appears on his blog, there is talk of a minor improvement here and a fair few extra fps there although it is barely perceivable.

I should say at this point that I am simply in awe of Strmnnrmn, I am not about to criticise a man for giving his personal time and effort for a free community focused project (AND release the source code) I just hope he cracks it soon! Until then, pop over to his blog and read his recent progress update.

Listing all those games is more than a little over enthusiastic given the present compatibility of R13. One thing I will say is Strmnnrmn needs to do a bit of SEO, I always have to make sure I bookmark his site as its buried some where deep on the second page when the google query “n64 psp emulator” is searched for. SEO, for the uninitiated is not the black art of search engine result page (SERP) hijacking (although frequently used for this) but a method of optimising parameters of websites to make it easier for search engines to identify their relevancy. This in turn helps Google serve more relevant results and is one of the main factors responsible for Google’s success in the search engine market. But anyway I had better wrap this up before I majorly digress.

UPDATE 05/04/08 : No word from the Dev for almost four and a half month – this is not encouraging although there are murmers he has adopted a different Alias. I will post more about this when I know.

UPDATE 30/05/08 : Still no word from the Dev – lots of murmerings on the comments about a new identities and conspiracy theories etc. There has been longer gaps between updates before, but I starting to get a little concerned. After all, how hard is it to post “Hi, really busy but still alive – be patient” ?

Categories: Gaming, Homebrew, N64, News, PSP Tags: , , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

