Home > Gaming, News, RTS > Supreme Commander : 12 hours in…

Supreme Commander : 12 hours in…

Whilst shopping the other day I randomly found Supreme Commander in one of the software ‘bargain bins’ at my local super market. I had played the demo last year when the game came out and been impressed, but time restrictions had precluded me from buying it. At ~£5 it was a bargain so I snapped it up and tried it when I got home. I must say I am extremely impressed. In the last three days I have played for ~12 hours trying a number of skirmishes as well as starting one of the campaigns.

I can find very little to fault with this game, which for regular readers will come as a surprise given my sometimes overly harsh standards. There are a number of genres that are purportedly ‘massive.’ Massively multiplayer (e.g. World of Warcraft) is a prime example, but in recent years we are starting to see massively single player (e.g. S.T.A.L.K.E.R. or the TES Series i.e. Oblivion) but massively strategy games up until recently have felt fairly claustrophobic. Indeed, it appears that the genre is a fairly niche one, given the popularity of tank rush games like Command and Conquer 3.

I think the greatest potential weakness the game has is the potential to collapse under its own weight. Skirmishes typically range between one and two hours against a single AI opponent and the campaign missions seem to keep expanding and expanding rather than ending. In fact, I think it is safe to say everything in this game from the maps to tech trees have been scaled to the nth degree. I have only scratched the surface of this game at the moment and I like what I have seen so far (apart from the slightly odd voice acting), for the price it is a bargain and I highly recommend you try it yourself if you are a fan of the strategy genre. When I have had time to play it more I will write a more detailed review.

EDIT: To get a real impression of the scale of the game, check out the trailer:

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

